Connect & Follow Us

Go Back

2014 HMPRG Awards

On Tuesday, October 14, 2014, Health & Medicine held our 5th HMPRG Awards celebration which honored the individuals and organizations whose work exemplifies our mission to promote social justice and challenge inequities in health and health care. Over 100 guests attended the event at Prairie Production in Chicago, helping to make it our most successful Awards to date. 

The 2014 HMPRG Award Winners
Learn more about our awardees here

Health: Jesus Ramirez-Valles, PhD, MPH, UIC School of Public Health
Daniel Swartzman, JD, MPH, Daniel Swartzman Consulting
Medicine: Raymond Curry, MD, Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine
Policy: Leticia Boughton, Chicago Community Health Workers Local Network
Research: James W. Collins, Jr.,  MD, MPH, Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago and Richard David, MD, John H. Stroger, Jr. Hospital  of Cook County
Group: Helping Her Live, a program of the Sinai Urban Health Institute
Emerging Leader: Samuel Villasenor, Picture Good Health Program
Youth Activist: Emma Leff

A list of past HMPRG Award winners is available here.

Thank you to our sponsors:
Leaders:  PCC Community Wellness Center, SEIU Healthcare Illinois Indiana,
UIC School of Public Health
Advocates:  Warren and Eloise Batts, Sara Lindholm and George Surgeon, CarmenVelasquez
Friends: Berkeley-Nickels Family, Joe Feinglass, Joy Getzenberg, Tom Granatir, HealthConnect One, IlliniCare Health, Jack Kaplan and Marian Mascai, MD, Frances and Elliot Lehman, Mary Rita Luecke, Albert Prieto and Joseph Zanoni, Elena Quintana, Gayle Riedmann, CNM, Susan Rogers, MD, Steven K. Rothschild, MD and Lisa Oppenheim, Jack Salmon, PhD, BettyLu and Paul Saltzman, MD, Service Employees International Union Local 73, Margie Schaps and Jack Doppelt, Richard H. Sewell, John Jay Shannon, MD, Louise Starmann, Bernice Weissbourd