Connect & Follow Us

Go Back

2016 HMPRG Awards

On Wednesday, October 19, 2016 in Chicago Health & Medicine welcomed almost 200 guests to the 6th HMPRG Awards. The awards honor individuals and organizations across six categories and celebrate those whose work exemplifies Health & Medicine’s mission to promote social justice and challenge inequities in health and health care.  Many thanks to everyone who joined us for the Awards and congratulations to our 2016 honorees!

Congratulations to our 2016 Award Winners!
  • Health: Amy Zimmerman, JD
  • Medicine: Frank Belmonte, D.O., MPH
  • Policy: Mark Kuczewski, PhD & Linda Brubaker, MD, MS
  • Dr. Steve Whitman Research Award: Lisa L. Barnes, PhD
  • Group: Brighton Park Neighborhood Council
  • Emerging Leader: Manuel Diaz
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Mildred C. Hunter

Thank you to our sponsors!

NextLevel Health Partners, Inc.
PCC Community Wellness Center
Rush University Medical Center
Leatrice Berman Sandler and Stephen Sandler

Access Community Health Network
Advocate Children’s Hospital
Drs. Janice L. Benson and Barry Mizock
Chicago Teachers Union
Michael Gelder
Caroline Hoke, MD
Rush University Family Physicians
Kai Tao
Carmen Velasquez

Berkeley-Nickels Family, Lina Cramer and Dick Durning, Dr. Geri Kahn and Bob Ginsburg, Jack Kaplan and Marian Macsai, M.D., Dr. Michael Losoff and Ms. April Singer, Kameron Matthews MD JD, Linda Rae Murray, MD, MPH, Albert Prieto and Joseph Zanoni, Bob Remer, Rachel Rubin, MD, MPH, Rush Health and Aging, Elizabeth Salisbury-Afshar, Margie Schaps and Jack Doppelt, Mark and Linda Diamond Shapiro, Melissa Simon, Sinai Urban Health Institute, Jerry Stermer, Daniel Swartzman, Charles Thurman, Sheldon Zenner and Ellen Morgan