Connect & Follow Us

Go Back

HMPRG Awards Gala

On October 13, Health and Medicine Policy Research Group (Health & Medicine) will be holding an Awards Gala to honor the accomplishments of activists and professionals making important strides towards health equity and social justice. See below for a complete list of our 2017 HMPRG Awards honorees. A list of past Award winners is available here.

Friday, October 13, 2017
Reception 5:30 / Program 7:00
Chicago Cultural Center / 78 E Washington St
Individual Ticket - $200 / NextGen Ticket (Age 30 and under) - $90

Online registration for this event is now closed. If you would like to attend and have not yet RSVPed, please contact Magda Slowik at or 312-372-4292x30.

 If you are unable to attend but wish to make a gift, please click here.

2017  HMPRG Award Winners

  • Health Awards:
Margaret M. Nykaza, D.Min., Harmony, Hope & Healing and
Suzanne Carlberg-Racich, PhD, MSPH, DePaul University and Chicago Recovery Alliance
  • Medicine Award: Evelyn Figueroa, MD, University of Illinois at Chicago College of Medicine
  • Policy Award: Chicago ADAPT
  • Dr. Steve Whitman Research Award: Wrenetha Julion, PhD, MPH, RN, FAAN, Rush University College of Nursing
  • Group Award: Metropolitan Tenants Organization  
  • Emerging Leader Award: Lauren Ángeles, Alivio Medical Center
  • Lifetime Achievement Award—Worker Health, Safety, and Justice: Leslie Nickels, MEd, PhD (Click here to view Dr. Nickel's CV)

Sponsorship Opportunities

•    Twenty tickets to the event
•    Verbal recognition from the podium
•    Two-page ad in Printed Tribute Book
•    Recognition in all event marketing, signage, programs, and materials

•    Fifteen tickets to the event
•    Full-page ad in Printed Tribute Book
•    Recognition in all event marketing, signage, programs, and materials

•    Ten tickets to the event
•    Half-page ad in printed tribute book
•    Recognition in all event marketing, signage, programs, and materials

•    Five tickets to the event
•    Quarter-page ad in printed tribute book
•    Recognition in all event marketing, signage, programs, and materials

•    Two tickets to the event
•    Recognition in printed event materials for two people or one organization 

Sponsorships can be purchased online here or download the sponsorship form.

Please contact Magda Slowik @ (312)372-4292 X 30 or with questions or requests for special assistance at the event

Thank you to our sponsors!

The Crown Family

Emily, Elizabeth, and Lon Berkeley
Claudia Fegan, MD
Joseph & Bessie Feinberg Foundation
Institute for Public Health and Medicine
Rush University Medical Center
Adele Simmons

Access Community Health Network
Debora de Hoyos and Walter Carlson
Population Health and Aging, Rush University Medical Center
Rush University Medical Center College of Nursing

Advocate Children’s Hospital, Aetna Better Health of Illinois, Alivio Medical Center, David Ansell MD and Paula Grabler, Bookgroup 1986, Chicago Recovery Alliance, Chicago Federation of Labor, Jack Doppelt and Margie Schaps, Erie Family Health Center, Arthur Hoffman & Paula Weinbaum, George P. Surgeon and Sara Lindholm, PCC Community Wellness Center, Bob Remer, Leatrice Berman Sandler and Stephen Sandler, SEIU Healthcare Illinois, Thresholds, Albert Prieto and Joseph Zanoni

American College of Nurse Midwives IL Affiliate, Joyce Bartz and Marty Gartzman, Harriet Bernbaum, , William Chamberlin MD and Kathleen Campbell, Veronica Clarke, Terry Conway and Judy Neafsey, Mary Driscoll, Joe Feinglass PhD, Joy Getzenberg, Aida Giachello, PhD, Geralynn Kahn, MD and Robert Ginsburg, Grateful Friend of Dr. Leslie Nickels, Hill and Cheryl Hammock, Jack Kaplan and Dr. Marian Macsai, Donna Kenski and Joe McCormack, Patrick Lenihan, PhD and Erica Salem, Mary Rita Luecke and Michael Gelder, Georganne Marsh and Stephen Heller, Mahnaz and Mark Mazak, McAlpine Consulting for Growth, LLC, Laura and Barry Miller, Linda Rae Murray, MD, MPH, Eleanor Nicholson, Hon. Toni Preckwinkle, Gayle Riedmann CNM, Illinois Affiliate of the American College of Nurse Midwives, Lisa Oppenheim and Steven Rothschild, Rachel Rubin, MD, MPH, Dr. Elizabeth Salisbury-Afshar, Bettylu and Paul Saltzman, Mardge Cohen and Gordy Schiff, Lezli and Robert Schiff, John Jay Shannon, MD, Hon. Debra Shore, Wendy Siegel and Brenda Bannor, Millennia Consulting, L.L.C., Melissa Simon and Xinqi Dong, Dr. Clark Stanford, Kai Tao, Charles and Yvette Thurman, Dave Tomke, Carmen Velasquez, Bernice Weissbourd, Arnie Widen MD and Judy Widen, Sheldon Zenner and Ellen Morgan