Connect & Follow Us

Behavioral Health Primary Care Integration


Learning Collaborative Members

Center for Long-Term Care Reform

The Bridge Model

Chicago Area Schweitzer Fellows Program

Application Process

Supporters and Partners

Current Fellows

Fellows for Life

Schweitzer Newsletters

Chicago Area Schweitzer Advisory Council

The Tarik F. Ibrahim Fellow

Chicago Area Health Education Center (AHEC)

Trainings for Professionals

Volunteer Opportunities

Helpful Resources for Health Career Seekers

Chicago AHEC Internship Program

Court-Involved Youth

Recent Work & Activities

Freestanding Birth Centers

Health Care Safety Net & Systems Transformation

Recent Work

Chicago Forum for Justice in Health Policy

Research: Strengthening the Safety Net in Illinois After Health Reform

Governor’s Office of Health Innovation and Transformation

Health Care Workforce Initiatives

State Workforce Policy and Planning

Public Health and Health Equity Initiative

Recent Work

Legislative Tracking

Quentin D. Young Equity Project

Partners & Collaborations


Join the Chicagoland Equity Network Delegation to the PolicyLink Equity Summit 2018

Illinois ACEs Response Collaborative

Policy Briefs & Reports

Environmental Scan

ACEs and Trauma Resources

Members of the Illinois ACEs Response Collaborative

Trauma-Informed Care - Best Practices Toolkit for Providers

Make a Donation and support this program

Donate Now

For more information about this program please contact:

Ray Wang
Policy Analyst; Program Director, Chicago Area Schweitzer Fellows Program

Go Back

Chicago Area Schweitzer Advisory Council

  • Overview


The Chicago Area Schweitzer Advisory Council guides the local Schweitzer Fellowship Program, helping to decide its direction, determining criteria for selection of new Fellows, assisting with recruitment, and serving as a resource for Fellows.  It is made up of university faculty and administrators, health and social service professionals, and former Fellows. 

Schweitzer Advisory Council 2015

Founding Chair

Quentin D. Young, MD
Founding Chairman, Health and Medicine

Schweitzer Advisory Council Chair
Arthur F. Kohrman, MD
Professor Emeritus
Pediatrics and Preventive Medicine
Feinberg School of Medicine, Northwestern University

Council Members

David Ansell, MD, MPH
Senior Vice President, System Integration
Associate Provost, Rush University

Claudia Baier, MPH
Senior Program Officer
VNA Foundation

François Blumenfeld-Kouchner, MA, Ph.D., DO
Chief Medical Resident, Internal Medicine
John H. Stroger Hospital of Cook County

Lola Coke, PhD, APRN-BC, ACNS

Associate Professor
Adult Health and Gerontological Nursing
Rush University College of Nursing

Raymond Curry, MD
Senior Associate Dean for Educational Affairs
University of Illinois College of Medicine   

Misty G. Drake
Project Director
Floyd Medical Center, Atlanta, GA

Peg Dublin, RN, MPH
Centering Healthcare Institute
Caswell A. Evans, DDS, MPH
Assoc. Dean for Prevention and Public Health
Services, UIC College of Dentistry

Lachlan Forrow, MD
President Emeritus
The Albert Schweitzer Fellowship
Associate Professor
Harvard Medical School

JoAnn Gruca, RN, PhD
Professor Emeritus
St. Xavier University School of Nursing

Lena Hatchett, PhD
Director, Community University Partnerships
Assistant Professor
Loyola University Chicago
Stritch School of Medicine

Eva Hernandez-Thomas, MSN
Researcher, UIC School of Nursing

Rohan Jeremiah, PhD, MPH
Assistant Professor of Community Health Sciences
University of Illinois, School of Public Health

Kohar Jones, MD
Center Medical Doctor
Iora Health

Sarah Kasprowicz, MD
Medical Dermatologist
Medical Dermatology Associates of Chicago

Claire Kohrman, PhD
Consultant for Research and Training
Westside Health Authority

Diane M. Kondratowicz, PhD
Unit Adjunct Faculty and Co Instructional Coordinator
Humanities; Liberal, Visual & Performing Arts
Elgin Community College
Affiliate Faculty
Health Care Ethics
Rueckert-Hartman College for Health Professions
Regis University (Denver, Colorado) 

Robert C. McKersie, MD
Family Medicine Physician
Greater Lawrence Family Health Center

Kevin A. Osten-Garner, Psy.D.
Licensed Clinical Psychologist
Associate Vice President of Academic Affairs
Adler University

Sonia Oyola, MD

Assistant Professor, Department of Family Medicine
Co-Director, Family Medicine Clerkship
Pritzker School of Medicine
The University of Chicago

Robert Perlman, MD, PhD
Professor Emeritus
The University of Chicago

Lisa Rosenberg, PhD, RN
Associate Dean of Students
Associate Professor - Community, Systems and Mental Health Nursing
Rush University College of Nursing

Steven Rothschild, MD
Associate Professor
Department of Family Medicine
Rush University Medical Center

Elizabeth Salisbury-Afshar, MD, MPH, FAAFP
Chicago Department of Public Health

Jack Snarr, PhD

Associate Dean Emeritus, Student Programs
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

Mark Stoltenberg, MD, MA
Resident Physician
Northwestern University McGaw Medical Center

Harvey Wigdor, DDS, MS
Chair, Department of Dentistry
Director, General Practice Residency Program
Advocate Illinois Masonic Medical Center

Torrey Wilson, Ph.D
Associate Professor, Clinical Psychology
Illinois School of Professional Psychology