Chicago Area Schweitzer Advisory Council – Health & Medicine Policy Research Group

Health & Medicine Policy Research Group Logo


Connect & Follow Us

Chicago Area Schweitzer Advisory Council

Make a Donation and support this program

Donate Now

For more information about this program please contact:

Ray Wang
Policy Analyst; Program Director, Chicago Area Schweitzer Fellows Program

Go Back

Chicago Area Schweitzer Advisory Council

  • Overview


The Chicago Area Schweitzer Advisory Council guides the local Schweitzer Fellowship Program, helping to decide its direction, determining criteria for selection of new Fellows, assisting with recruitment, and serving as a resource for Fellows.  It is made up of university faculty and administrators, health and social service professionals, and former Fellows.

Schweitzer Advisory Council 2015

Founding Chair

Quentin D. Young, MD
Founding Chairman, Health and Medicine

Schweitzer Advisory Council Chair
Steven K. Rothschild, MD
Acting Chair, Family Medicine
Rush University Medical Center

Council Members

David Ansell, MD, MPH
Senior Vice President, System Integration
Associate Provost, Rush University

Claudia Baier, MPH
Senior Program Officer, VNA Foundation

François Blumenfeld-Kouchner, MA, PhD, DO
Palliative Care Fellow Medical College of Wisconsin

Raymond Curry, MD
Senior Associate Dean for Educational Affairs
UIC College of Medicine   

Misty Drake, AM
Project Director
Floyd Medical Center

Peg Dublin, RN, MPH
Consultant, Centering Healthcare Institute

Caswell A. Evans, DDS, MPH
Associate Dean for Prevention and Public Health
UIC College of Dentistry

JoAnn Gruca, RN, PhD
Professor Emeritus
St. Xavier School of Nursing

Lena Hatchett, PhD
Director, Community University Partnerships
Assistant Professor
Loyola University Stritch School of Medicine

Eva Hernandez-Thomas, MSN
Healthcare Alternative Systems (HAS) &
UIC College of Nursing

Rohan Jeremiah, PhD, MPH
Assistant Professor of Community Health Sciences
University of Illinois, School of Public Health

Kohar Jones, MD
Family Physician and Writer
Medical Director
Heartland Health Outreach

Sarah Kasprowicz, MD
Medical Dermatologist
Medical Dermatology Associates of Chicago

Arthur F. Kohrman, MD
Professor Emeritus
Pediatrics and Preventive Medicine
Feinberg School of Medicine, Northwestern University

Claire Kohrman, PhD
Medical & Community Sociologist (retired)
University of Chicago & Westside Health Authority

Diane Kondratowicz, PhD
Adjunct Faculty
Margaret and Harold Moser College of Adult and Professional Studies, Benedictine University

Robert C. McKersie, MD
Family Medicine Physician
Greater Lawrence Family Health Center

Kevin A. Osten-Garner, PsyD
Licensed Clinical Psychologist
Associate Vice President of Academic Affairs
Adler University

Sonia Oyola, MD, ABOI M
Integrative Family Physician
Director, Family Medicine M3 and M4 Clerkships
Pritzker School of Medicine
University of Chicago

Robert Perlman, MD, PhD
Professor Emeritus
The University of Chicago

Camille R. Quinn, PhD, AM, LCSW
Postdoctoral Fellow
University of Rochester Medical Center, School of Medicine and Dentistry

Rachel Reichlin
Program Officer
Michael Reese Health Trust

Lisa Rosenberg, PhD, RN
Associate Dean of Students
Associate Professor
Rush University College of Nursing

Elizabeth Salisbury-Afshar, MD, MPH
Medical Director of Behavioral Health
Chicago Department of Public Health

Jack Snarr, PhD
Associate Dean Emeritus, Student Programs
Northwestern University Feinberg Medical School

Mark Stoltenberg, MD, MA
Palliative Care Fellow
Massachusetts General Hospital, Boston

Harvey Wigdor, DDS, MS
Director, General Practice Residency Program
Advocate Illinois Masonic Medical Center

Torrey Wilson, PhD
Associate Professor, Clinical Psychology
Illinois School of Professional Psychology