Board of Directors – Health & Medicine Policy Research Group

Connect & Follow Us

Health & Medicine Policy Research Group Logo

Go Back

Board of Directors

Our organization’s uniqueness derives, in large part, from our strong board participation; the diversity of issues the board addresses; and the single-mindedness of its vision: an equitable health system that provides access to quality affordable health care for all.

The board’s professional diversity has been responsible for the broad range of issues on which Health & Medicine has taken a lead. The close collaboration between our staff and this remarkable board has allowed us to remain focused and on mission while successfully stewarding operational resources.

Founding Chairman
Quentin D. Young, MD

Executive Committee Officers

Steven K. Rothschild, MD
Professor and Chair, Department of Family Medicine, Rush University Medical Center

Immediate Past President
Claudia Fegan, MD
Chief Medical Officer
Cook County Health & Hospitals System

Vice President
Graciela Guzmán
Coalition Manager, Protect Our Care Illinois Coalition
Heartland Alliance

Lon Berkeley
Project Director, CHC Accreditation (Retired)
The Joint Commission

Jennifer McGowan-Tomke, MPH
Associate Director
National Alliance on Mental Illness (NAMI) Chicago

Board Members

Karen Aguirre, MPH
Program Manager
West Side United, Rush University Medical Center

Suzanne Carlberg-Racich, PhD, MSPH
Assistant Professor
DePaul University

Max Clermont, MPH
Senior Project Lead
Partners In Health

Misty Drake, MA
Chief Operating Officer
Piedmont Health Services, Inc.

Joe Feinglass, PhD
Research Professor of Medicine
Northwestern University’s Division of General Internal Medicine and Geriatrics

Michael Gelder

Robyn L. Golden, MA, LCSW
Director of Health and Aging
Rush University Medical Center

Chloe Gurin-Sands, MPH
Manager of Health Equity and Planning
Metropolitan Planning Council

Sara Lindholm
Regional Director of Development (Retired)
The Community Builders, Inc.

Ray Mendez, MD, MA
Founder and President
Salud LatinX, LLC

Linda Rae Murray, MD, MPH
Chief Medical Officer (Retired)
Cook County Department of Public Health

Heather O’Donnell, JD, LLM
Vice President of Advocacy and Public Policy

Elena Quintana, PhD
Executive Director
Institute on Public Safety & Social Justice (IPSSJ)
Adler School of Professional Psychology

Rachel Reichlin, MPH, MSN, CTN-B
Program Officer
Michael Reese Health Trust

Gayle Riedmann, CNM
West Suburban Midwife Associates

Melissa Simon, MD, MPH
Vice Chair of Clinical Research, Dept. of Obstetrics and Gynecology
George H. Gardner Professor of Clinical Gynecology
Associate Professor of Obstetrics and Gynecology, Preventive Medicine and Medical Social Sciences
Northwestern University, Feinberg School of Medicine

Kai Tao, ND, MPH, CNM
Deputy Commissioner – Chief Program Officer
Chicago Department of Public Health

Mildred Williamson, PhD, MSW
Director, Research & Regulatory Affairs
Cook County Health & Hospitals System

Tom Wilson
Community Organizer
Access Living (Retired)

Joseph Zanoni, MILR, PhD
Research Assistant Professor (Retired)
Illinois Occupational and Environmental
Health and Safety Education and Research Center
School of Public Health,
University of Illinois at Chicago