2019 HMPRG Awards Gala - Health & Medicine Policy Research Group

Connect & Follow Us

Health & Medicine Policy Research Group Logo

Go Back

2019 HMPRG Awards Gala

Sep 27, 2019

Thank you for joining us at the 2019 HMPRG Awards Gala on Sept. 27th at the Chicago Cultural Center!

We were thrilled to welcome over 300 guests for a beautiful night celebrating health justice leaders in Chicago, enjoying good food, bidding on exciting auction items, and connecting with those committed to working towards health equity. We’re so inspired and energized by all of the work our dedicated awardees have done to challenge inequities in health and health care. Many thanks to all who attended and supported the event! You can see photos from the event here.

2019 HMPRG Awards Winners

Health Award: Mary Black, MS, OTR/L, Heartland Alliance Marjorie Kovler Center

Medicine Award: Sonia P. Oyola, MD, ABOIM, University of Chicago and Heartland Health Centers

Policy Award: Jonathan Lavin, AgeOptions – (Retired)

Policy Award: Marlita White, Chicago Department of Public Health

Dr. Steve Whitman Research Award: Fernando De Maio, DePaul University

Group Award: Community Behavioral Healthcare Association of Illinois

Emerging Leader Award: La BROCHA

Lifetime Achievement Award: Larry J. Goodman, MD, Rush University Medical Center

Health & Medicine would like to thank the following for their sponsorship support:

The Crown Family

Claudia Fegan, MD
Larry and Michelle Goodman
Northwestern University Institute for Public Health and Medicine
Lisa Oppenheim and Steven Rothschild, MD
Rush Population Health and Aging

Joseph & Bessie Feinberg Foundation
Heartland Health Centers
Rush University College of Nursing

AgeOptions, Alivio Medical Center, Anonymous, ATHENA, Drs. Janice Benson and Barry Mizock, Berkeley-Nickels Family, Jack Doppelt and Margie Schaps, Drs. Mary Fabri & David Goldberg, Hill and Cheryl Hammock, Arthur Hoffman and Paula Weinbaum, Illinois Hospital Association, Caroline Markey Hoke, MD, Dr. Sarah Kasprowicz and Mr. Michael Resnick, Myrtis Meyer and Martin Cohen, PCC Community Wellness Center, Leatrice Berman Sandler and Stephen Sandler, SEIU Healthcare Illinois Indiana Missouri Kansas, George P. Surgeon and Sara Lindholm, University of Illinois at Chicago School of Public Health


Dr. Allison Arwady, Bright Pink, Suzanne Carlberg-Racich and Blake Racich, Center for Community Health Equity, Mardge Cohen and Gordon Schiff, Joe Feinglass, PhD, Michael Gelder and Mary Rita Luecke, Joy Getzenberg, Aida Giachello, MD, Robyn Golden, MA, LCSW, Julie Hamos and Alan Greiman, Juno4Me, Jack Kaplan and Dr. Marian Macsai, Stuart and Bobbie Levin, Amy Lulich, MHA, McAlpine Consulting for Growth, LLC, Linda Rae Murray, MD, MPH, NAMI Chicago, Near North Health Service Corporation, Susan Reed and Ed Schwartz, Pat Rush and Bill Huffman, Erica Salem and Patrick Lenihan, Elizabeth Salisbury-Afshar and Majid Afshar, Lezli and Robert Schiff, Mark and Linda Diamond Shapiro, Hon. Debra Shore, Drs. Melissa Simon and Xinqi Dong, Thresholds, Charles and Yvette Thurman, Triology Behavioral Health, Carmen Velasquez, Babs Waldman and Avi Shaked, West Suburban Midwife Associates, Arnie and Judy Widen, Joe Zanoni and Albert Prieto, Sheldon Zenner and Ellen Morgan