2021 Health & Medicine Awards Gala – Health & Medicine Policy Research Group

Connect & Follow Us

Health & Medicine Policy Research Group Logo

Go Back

2021 Health & Medicine Awards Gala

Sep 30, 2021

Virtual & In Person Celebration | Thursday, September 30, 2021 | 6:00pm CDT

Ignite Glass Studios | 401 N. Armour St, Chicago, IL 60642

Thursday, September 30, 2021, 6–8:30 p.m.

Pre-awards entertainment by Thaddeus Tukes at 6 p.m.

Awards Ceremony 6:30-7:30 p.m.

Glass Blowing Presentation 7:30-8:30 p.m.

The Awards Gala will be followed by the 

Chicago Schweitzer Fellows for Life After Party 9-11 p.m. with

music by DJ Alvin Black III

Register here!

While we are planning for a virtual and in-person Gala on September 30, we are following local COVID-19 guidelines to ensure the health and safety of our guests, volunteers, and staff, and will update guests about any changes to the event. Ignite Glass Studios includes a gorgeous outdoor space, and if you can’t make it in person, join us virtually to celebrate our Awards Winners! 

Health & Medicine invites friends old and new to join us at our 40th Anniversary Health & Medicine Awards Gala, where we will honor the public health champions in our community who transform and improve the lives and well-being of all, both every day and in times of crisis.

Join us at Ignite Glass Studios and online to celebrate 40 years of working together to advance health equity and connect with local health justice advocates supporting our community throughout the pandemic and beyond.

We will enjoy live entertainment from Chicago musician Thaddeus Tukes, food and refreshments from The Fat Shallot, and an awards ceremony recognizing recipients of the Under 40 Award, Over 40 Years of Service Award, and Group Award.

For those who can’t make it in person—join us online for the Awards Ceremony!

Meet our 2021 Health & Medicine Awards winners here.

Double your gift! Health & Medicine’s Board of Directors is committed to matching every gift received up to $40,000. We accept cash, checks, credit cards, and stock. Our new partnership with Overflow makes donating stock simpler than ever before. All donations are tax deductible. Help advance equity in public health and improve the health of everyone in Illinois with your donation.

 Sponsor Our Awards Gala

Learn more about our sponsorship opportunities here!


Dress Code
Dress code is “Smart Casual”! Feel free to come in business casual or enjoy dressing up a bit more, think going out for a night on the town or to a fun restaurant in the city. Dress for the weather–there will be an outdoor space so bring a light sweater in case it cools down as the evening goes on!
Those who are under 21 are welcome to come and will receive a wristband upon entry.
Food Options
We are vegan and vegetarian friendly and will have a variety of food options. Since everything is small plates, you will be able to choose what you want to eat.
There is free and easy street parking. Below is Ignite Glass Studio’s parking map!
The venue is accessible, please reach out to cthatcher@hmprg.org for any specific accessibility requests or questions.
Proof of vaccination is required before entry, and wearing masks is mandatory except while you are eating and drinking.
The Ignite Glass Studio venue is indoor/outdoor, with the doors between the two continually open.
Virtual Link
We will send a link to the virtual Gala to all virtual registrants in early September.
Does my ticket to the Gala get me into the FFL After Party?
No, but if you’d like to stay an extra 2 hours for more food, drinks, and a DJ, you can purchase a $50 ticket the night of the event as long as there is room. We recommend you purchase in advance to guarantee we have a spot for you as we have limited capacity.

Thank you to our early sponsors:


Crown Family Philanthropies



Claudia Fegan

Illinois AHEC Network

Joseph & Bessie Feinberg Foundation

Northwestern Institute for Public Health and Medicine


Sara Jean Lindholm and George P. Surgeon

Steven K. Rothschild MD and Lisa Oppenheim

Rush University Medical Center

Adele Simmons

In Memory of Ben Squires


ACLU of Illinois

Lon Berkeley & Family

Rowland W. Chang, MD, MPH

Mardge Cohen and Gordy Schiff

Cook County Health

Erie Family Health

Loyola University Chicago’s School of Social Work

Carron Maxwell

Myrtis Meyer and Marty Cohen


Rush Center for Health and Social Care Integration

Leatrice Berman Sandler and Stephen Sandler

Margie Schaps and Jack Doppelt


UIC School of Public Health



Drs Janice Benson & Barry Mizock

Center for Health Equity Transformation

Conlon Public Strategies

CPASS Foundation

DePaul University, Master of Public Health Program

Mary Pat Eitzen and Robert Bowser

Sue Etminan and Azhar Majeed

Joe Feinglass

Michael Gelder and Mary Rita Luecke

Joy Getzenberg

Robyn Golden

Larry J. Goodman, MD

Hill and Cheryl Hammock

Arthur Hoffman and Paula Weinbaum

Jack Kaplan and Dr. Marian Macsai

Patrick Lenihan and Erica Salem

McAlpine Consulting for Growth, LLC

Jen McGowan-Tomke and Chris Tomke

Linda Rae Murray

Peter Orris

Alberto Prieto and Joseph Zanoni

Gayle Riedmann

Drs. Jonathan and Elisa Ross

Rachel Rubin, MD

Pat Rush

Lezli Schiff and Robert Schiff

April Singer and Michael Losoff

Audrey Stillerman, MD and David Freedman, MD


Charles and Cecelia Thurman

Mildred Williamson