Chicago Area Schweitzer Fellows Program Celebrates Class of 2021-2022 - Health & Medicine Policy Research Group

Connect & Follow Us

Health & Medicine Policy Research Group Logo

Go Back

Chicago Area Schweitzer Fellows Program Celebrates Class of 2021-2022

May 2, 2022

Each year, we gather to celebrate the tremendous work of our graduating Chicago Area Schweitzer Fellows. We were thrilled to present our 25th class of Schweitzer Fellows — our second class to complete the Fellowship completely during the time of COVID-19 — at our Celebration of Service. Our 2021-2022 Fellows’ creativity, flexibility, and deep commitment to service and improving the lives of people living in the Chicagoland area continue to inspire us.

Congrats to the 2021-2022 Chicago Area Schweitzer Fellows for wrapping up a year of community service projects! We gathered on Tuesday, April 19, 2022 in the sweeping and beautiful main hall at Alhambra Palace in downtown Chicago, all masked and vaccinated, to hear the Fellows recount their experiences and the impacts of their projects in their own words. It was a moving evening. We wish them all success as they continue their careers in a variety of health fields knowing that they are now Fellows for Life, joining a cadre of committed like-minded change agents across disciplines and fields.

Congratulations to Brandon Ansbro, Shams Azzawi, Teliane Bakala, Jackie Camardo, Ashley Campbell, Ariel Crenshaw, Danielle Drinkuth, Taylor Ellebb, TP Farley, Symphony Fletcher, Rachel Francis, Veronica Gonzalez, Ivy Hernandez, Ibraheem Hamzat, Emilie Lacy, Priyanka Mathur, Oak Moreno, Hana O’Hagan, Thwisha Sabloak, Natali Smiley, Isaiah Teixeira, Cori Cafaro, Meg Tomlins, Ange Uwimana, Jennifer Vu, and Veronica Zheng!

Thank you to our funders: Midwestern University Chicago College of Osteopathic Medicine, Rush University, University of Chicago Crown Family School of Social Work, Policy, and Practice, The VNA Foundation, UIC College of Medicine, Blowitz-Ridgeway Foundation, Erikson Institute, Michael Reese Health Trust, and Sponsors of the Tarik F. Ibrahim MD, MS, Leslie Nickels, MEd, PhD, and Bob and Caryle Perlman Fellowships.

Thank you to our Chicago Schweitzer Advisory Council: Founding Program Chair, Quentin D. Young, MD; Schweitzer Advisory Council Chair, Steven K. Rothschild, MD; David Ansell, MD, MPH, Claudia Baier, MPH, Francois Blumenfeld-Kouchner, MA, Ph.D., DO, Raymond Curry, MD, Misty Drake, AM, Sue Etminan, DMD, MPH, Caswell A. Evans, DDS, MPH, Bonnie Ewald, MA, Deborah Gaebler-Spira, MD, JoAnn Gruca, RN, PhD, Lena Hatchett, PhD, Eva Hernandez-Thomas, MSN, Rohan Jeremiah, PhD, MPH, Kohar Jones, MD, Sarah Kasprowicz, MD, Claire Kohrman, PhD, Diane Kondratowicz, PhD, Robert C McKersie, MD, Kevin A. Osten-Garner, PsyD, Ray Mendez, MD, MA, Sonia Oyola, MD, ABOIM, Rajesh Parikh, MD, MPH, Robert Perlman, MD, PhD, Lisa Rosenberg, PhD, RN, Abigail Sivan, PhD, Patrick D. Smith, DMD, MPH. Shirely Stephenson, FNP-BC, Harvey Wigdor, DDS, MS, and Sandra Wilks, RN, MSN, CN.

Watch the recording of the event below and view our virtual program book here!