Chicago Area Schweitzer Advisory Council – Health & Medicine Policy Research Group

Connect & Follow Us

Health & Medicine Policy Research Group Logo


Chicago Area Schweitzer Advisory Council

For more information about this program please contact:

Maya Bauer
Schweitzer Fellows Program Director

Shajaya Martinez
Schweitzer Fellowship Program Coordinator

Go Back

Chicago Area Schweitzer Advisory Council

  • Overview


The Chicago Area Schweitzer Advisory Council guides the local Schweitzer Fellowship Program, helping to decide its direction, determining criteria for selection of new Fellows, assisting with recruitment, and serving as a resource for Fellows.  It is made up of university faculty and administrators, health and social service professionals, and former Fellows.

Schweitzer Advisory Council
Founding Chair

Quentin D. Young, MD
Founding Chairman, Health and Medicine

Schweitzer Advisory Council Chair
Steven Rothschild, MD
Professor and Chair
Rush University Medical Center

Council Members

David Ansell, MD, MPH
Senior Vice President, Associate Provost for Community Health Equity
Rush University

Claudia Baier, MPH
Senior Program Officer
VNA Foundation

François Blumenfeld-Kouchner, MA, PhD, DO
Palliative Physician for WI Central Region
Advocate Aurora Health

Raymond Curry, MD
Senior Associate Dean for Educational Affairs
University of Illinois at Chicago College of Medicine

Misty G. Drake, AM
Project Director
Floyd Medical Center

Sue Etminan, DMD, MPH
Dental Director
Miles Square Health Center

Caswell A. Evans, DDS, MPH
Associate Dean for Prevention and Public Health
University of Illinois at Chicago College of Dentistry

Deborah Gaebler-Spira, MD
Attending Physician
Shirley Ryan AbilityLab

JoAnn Gruca, RN, PhD
Professor Emeritus
St. Xavier University School of Nursing

Lena Hatchett, PhD
Director, Community University Partnerships
Associate Professor for Medical Education
Loyola University Stritch School of Medicine

Eva Hernandez-Thomas, MSN
Behavioral Health Community Researcher
Healthcare Alternative Systems

Rohan D. Jeremiah, PhD, MPH
Assistant Professor of Community Health Sciences
University of Illinois School of Public Health

Kohar Jones, MD
Family Physician
Heartland Alliance Health

Sarah Kasprowicz, MD
Medical Dermatologist
Medical Dermatology Associates of Chicago

Ariel Katz, MD, MPH
Education Director, Clinical Skills Department
Chicago Medical School
Rosalind Franklin University

Claire H. Kohrman, PhD
Medical & Community Sociologist (retired)
University of Chicago
Westside Health Authority

Arthur Kohrman, MD
Professor Emeritus
Northwestern Feinberg School of Medicine

Diane M. Kondratowicz, PhD
Unit Adjunct Faculty & Co-Instructional Coordinator
Elgin Community College

Robert C. McKersie, MD
Family Medicine Physician
Greater Lawrence Family Health Center

Kevin A. Osten-Garner, PsyD
Licensed Clinical Psychologist
Associate Vice President of Academic Affairs
Adler University

Sonia P. Oyola, MD, ABOIM
Integrative Family Physician
Director, Family Medicine M3 and M4 Clerkships
Heartland Health Centers
Pritzker School of Medicine
University of Chicago

Robert Perlman, MD, PhD
Professor Emeritus
University of Chicago

Rachel Reichlin, MPH, MSN, RN
Program Officer
Michael Reese Health Trust

Lisa Rosenberg, PhD, RN
Associate Dean of Students
Associate Professor
Rush University College of Nursing

Elizabeth Salisbury-Afshar, MD, MPH
Medical Director of Behavioral Health
City of Chicago Department of Public Health

Abigail Sivan, PhD
Clinical Associate Professor
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

Jack Snarr, PhD
Associate Dean Emeritus, Student Programs
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

Shirley Stephenson, NP
Advanced Practice Nurse
Rush University Medical Center

Mark Stoltenberg, MD
Palliative Care Fellow
Massachusetts General Hospital

Harvey Wigdor, DDS, MS
University of Illinois College of Dentistry

Sandra P. Wilks, RN, MSN, CNE
Michael Reese Research & Education Foundation, Women’s Health Program

Torrey Wilson, PhD
Associate Professor, Clinical Psychology
Illinois School of Professional Psychology