2018 HMPRG Awards - Health & Medicine Policy Research Group

Connect & Follow Us

Health & Medicine Policy Research Group Logo

Go Back

2018 HMPRG Awards

Oct 19, 2018

Many thanks to all those who attended the 2018 HMPRG Awards Gala on Oct. 19th at the Chicago Cultural Center!

We were thrilled to welcome over 300 guests to help us celebrate the inspiring work of our winners and their efforts advancing health equity and social justice. Check out a few pictures from the event below and see more on our Facebook page. Congratulations to our honorees, and many thanks to all who attended and supported the event!

2018 HMPRG Award Winners:

Health Award: Gabriela A. Zapata-Alma, Thresholds
Medicine Award: Dr. Connie Mennella, Cermak Health Services/CCHHS
Policy Award: Jim Pickett, AIDS Foundation of Chicago
Steve Whitman Research Award: Arturo Carrillo, PhD, LCSW, Saint Anthony Hospital: Community Wellness Program
Group Awards: Broadway Youth Center and Latino Union of Chicago
Emerging Leader Award: Cecil Qiu, Second Opinions, NFP

Health & Medicine would like to thank the following for their sponsorship support:
The Crown Family
Northwestern University Institute for Public Health and Medicine
Rush Population Health and Aging
Rush University Medical Center
Claudia Fegan, MD
Cook County Health
Joseph & Bessie Feinberg Foundation
Access Community Health Network, David Ansell, MD and Paula Grabler, MD
Berkeley-Nickels Family
Jack Doppelt and Margie Schaps
Aviva Futorian
Healthy Illinois Campaign/Alivio Medical Center
Arthur Hoffman and Paula Weinbaum
Caroline Markey Hoke, MD
Illinois Area Health Education Center Network Program
Illinois Health and Hospital Association
Lisa Oppenheim and Steven Rothschild, MD
PCC Community Wellness Center
Saint Anthony Hospital
Leatrice Berman Sandler and Stephen Sandler
Trilogy, Inc.
University of Illinois at Chicago School of Public Health
Carmen Velasquez

Advocate Children’s Hospital, Harriet Bernbaum, Mardge Cohen and Gordy Schiff, Cook County Board President Toni Preckwinkle, Mary Driscoll, Joe Feinglass, PhD, Joy Getzenberg, Robyn Golden, MA, LCSW, Merrill & Karen Goozner, Juno4Me, Donna Kenski & Joseph McCormack, Kristi L Kirschner, MD and Raymond H. Curry, MD, Amy Lulich, MHA, Dr. Marian Macsai and Jack Kaplan, McAlpine Consulting For Growth, LLC , MedGlobal, Inc, Berneice Mills-Thomas, Molina Healthcare of Illinois, Peter Orris, MD, MPH and Sita Rao, MD, John M Raba, Susan Reed and Ed Schwartz, Bob Remer, Gayle Riedmann, CNM, Rachel Rubin, MD, MPH, Patricia Rush, MD and Bill Huffman, Erica Salem and Patrick Lenihan, Elizabeth Salisbury, Bettylu and Paul Saltzman, Lezli and Robert Schiff, Jay and Robin Shannon, Mark and Linda Diamond Shapiro, Debra Shore, Adele Simmons, George P. Surgeon and Sara Lindholm, Sidney A. Thomas, Charles and Yvette Thurman, Jen McGowan-Tomke and Chris Tomke, Arnie Widen, MD and Judith Widen, Albert Prieto and Joseph Zanoni